The EIGA history

The association was established in 1923 

It started as the “Commission Permanente Internationale (CPI) de l’acétylène, de la soudure autogène et des industries qui s’y rattachentwhich was founded on 15 December 1923 in Paris.

In 1989, CPI merged with EDIA, the “European Dry Ice Association” (CO2) producers which itself was founded in 1953.

The merged association, also known as CPI, moved to Brussels in 1990 and changed its name to the European Industrial Gases Association in April 1991.

Today, the association still goes by the name “EIGA”.